Now appearing as a sponsored link is smartchoicecameras, aka Smart Choice Cameras. They are brand new, but I’d be very, very careful in dealing with them.
Their “Volusion SSL” certificate has the following contact information:
Smartchoicecameras
Address: 73 cedar ave Suite 14
long branch, nj 07740
US
The address is an apartment building.
Googling 954-554-0593 reveals the following Craigslist ad from Long Island, New York:
High quality paint job for lowest prices starting at $60 per room & $799.00 for Entire House Speak To Jack 954-554-0593 (Mobile Number) BestPricesPainting
Their “About Us” page is exactly the same as numerous other bogus websites, including stopandshopdigital, sonic cameras, big camera deals,
Finally, their “customer service number” is 888-123-4567. Good luck trying that one. I’m guessing that this a Brooklyn based site that is trying to appear as if they are located in New Jersey to avoid prosecution.

12 comments:
Thanks for the heads up dave, I think you may have just saved me about $1500.
Ditto! There prices are just too good to be true. They also have some very good packaging which would indicate that they know their stuff.
I wish they would be for real but I just can't take the chance. They have a package listed which is very tempting but I will resist because of this blog and because the deal was just too good.
I just want to say thanks for the heads up I almost gave these jerks my credit card number!
Thanks a lot for the heads up!
Their FAQ page has a question - "How do I contact you?", which just redirects us to there "About Us" page. This potentially saved me a lot of time and frustration.
OMG!!I was really crazy looking for someone that heard about this smartchoice.com ... Thanks man, you saved me lots of money! ;)
Love your posting! I need to tell my friends about you before we think about purchasing randomly online!!
Do not purchase anything from these guys. There is no doubt these are guys are thieves.
crooks period end of story.
Thanks for the warning about SkyPointDigital. Their pricing looked good initially, but after reading these horror stories around the web, I'll buy my Nikon D90 elsewhere. These bait and switch shops are pure evil. When you don't see a storefront address in 'About Us,' it's time to RUN AWAY! Keep up the great work!
Their phone number is "888-123-4567"? Ha ha ha! Too funny!
Thank you. I will rather spend the extra money and get my D3000 from Amazon.
I wish everyone read this blog. My friend bought a flash from this site and actually talked to someone on the phone that new that my friend was a novice camera user. This person sold my friend a flash at $180 that sells for $105. My friend wanted a Nikon lens but was told he could get a better flash with more options for the same price. Not only is the flash really poor quality it was sent broken and is obviously something that was returned to this site or stolen from Best Buys broken returns desk. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SITE. How do we shut them down?
Post a Comment