Wednesday, September 09, 2009

SkyPointDigital Thumbs Nose at the State of New York Attorney General's Office

As confirmed by the numerous comments to my prior post about SkyPointDigital (aka Sky Point Digital), they are a COMPLETE BAIT AND SWITCH OPERATION.  According to this post on donwiss.com, they are located at 14A 53rd St, 7th Floor in Brooklyn. 

Given the recent crackdown on bait and switch websites by the State of New York back in June, why are these guys still in business?  Read the New York Times article here.

They have a perfect ZERO out of ten rating on reselleratings, where you can read numerous accounts of how they operate.  LINK.

Here’s how they do it.  They use Google Adwords to advertise an unbelievably low price.  The consumer (or mark, at these criminals would have it) then places the order online.  He then receives a call from Skypoint, purportedly to validate the credit card, but in reality to give an upsell on overpriced accessories.  If the mark doesn’t bite, the item is magically out of stock.

Per Andrew Cuomo’s June 25, 2009 statement, such tactics are illegal. It’s consumer fraud, pure and simple.

I want these guys shut down.  I’ve exposed several other sites and their operators, and several have emailed me begging me to remove the information that I’ve uncovered.  Skypoint, if the State of New York won’t do anything, I will.

If you’ve been ripped off by these guys, send me any phone numbers that they use, and write down whatever appears on caller ID.  If you received a box from them, let me know what the return address is. If you’ve tried to return something to them, let me know what address they said to send it to.   If you’ve received an email from them, provide me with all of the email addresses that they use.  Send them to dave.michael@rocketmail.com.   They use Google to rip people off, I use Google to expose them.  Their Facebook profiles, Linkedin profiles, Myspace profiles, property ownership, business partners, you name it…All publicly available information, and all fair game. 

1 comments:

Anonymous said...

Their real name is ScumPointDigital. LOL.