Wednesday, February 02, 2011

TC PhotoVideo (aka tc photo video & tcphotovideo.com): Legit?

A new website showing up on Bing searches is TC PhotoVideo aka TC Photo and Video. No address is provided, the contact email is a yahoo address, and there is no phone number. Their prices are far below established retailers. How would a brand new website be able to offer such amazing deals on cameras and camcorders? Please post your experiences with these guys below.

14 comments:

Skylar said...

Their price for a Canon T2i body only is like $50-75 less than any other online retailer, and their pricing seems to be consistent with other sites that have a pretty bad rep as well... they're too new to really have any reviews out there as of this writing, but rather than roll the dice- I'm paying more and buying with a reputable retailer. $500+ is way too much to gamble with.

Anonymous said...

Just sent them an email to confirm if product is new, import or refurbished. Price is fantastic on the camera I am looking to buy, but I am a little nervous since there is no phone number or address...
Adorama has the next best price... are they reputable?

Anonymous said...

Their price for Nikon 70-200mm VRII lens is about $500 less than the lowest dealer on a lens with $2500 recommended resale,, and lower than even the lowest used prices on eBay. The same for the new D7000 SLR. Their small print says they may sell gray market or imported products.....their credit card entry screen is also unsecured...

If it looks too good a deal it probably is...

I will post any email answers I get from them.

Anonymous said...

Oh ... And here is anything thing. Their conditions state that cancellations can only be accepted by phone ( no phone number), and returns can only be by 'unregistered' shipping and with an RMA number...and shipped to where?....

Skylar said...

Anonymous- Adorama is almost up there with B&H in terms of buyer feedback.(Mostly positive) They're pretty legit from the research I have done being in the camera market for a year.

Anonymous said...

I sent an email to ask for phone number and address on Saturday. No answer. The weblink to their email address does not work correctly.... Their domain name is registered to 8939 S Sepulveda Blvd, Westchester, CA 90045 #110, 732. This is the location of a UPS Store which offers mailbox services..... The phone number listed on whois.net for this company leads to namecheap.com which is a domain name registration site. So no response to emails, no phone number, no address, a mailbox location for their web-site registration......buyer beware folks!

Anonymous said...

One clue, but not proof, is that their IP (67.228.226.18) is right next to DiplomatCameras.com (67.228.226.19).

Diplomat Cameras is discussed here:
http://thoughts-of-dave.blogspot.com/2010/10/warning-diplomat-cameras-skypoint.html

Anonymous said...

is this another way for Thunder Camera to scam people out of restocking fees for products they don't want?

Anonymous said...

I ordered a camera body but put the wrong code for my credit card by accident, or luck? I still haven't heard from them via email and so yesterday I emailed them. I got a call from +7 (182) 232-93-3 via my google voice number, so it asked for a name, and they said TC PhotoVideo. Before I could accept the call they hung up. I looked up the country code for 7 and it is Kazakhstan and Russia. It said their business hours were EST... that's a little further East than that!

Anonymous said...

Hahaha what did I say on my Bing Post ! Buyer Beware Highpoint / Bingo is up to it again ! The website on Tc Photo is similar to Bingos site it's def them. What a bunch of idiots.

Anonymous said...

I did order a Canon 70-300mm F4-F5.6 telephoto lens for $429 from these guys and then got a call from Ben Thomas at 718.223.2533 asking if I was sure that this was the right lens for my camera. I had checked with B&H before and they had told me what I wanted so I told him that I was sure. He said that is was not and that the one I needed would cost $549 but that he had a Sigma lens for $429 and he said that this was a better lens. So I told him to go ahead and ship. After his call, I search and found the Sigma len he quoted at $159 new. I then called Ben back but they had closed already for the day and only have business hours Mon to Thur so I had to wait until Monday to call back. When I did reach him, he said I was not comparing the correct lenses and that they had already ship my lens. It came yesterday (02.17) and I started checking again with the exact model number. Same deal, I could get the lens on Amazon for $159. I called Ben back and he said again that I was not comparing the correct lens. He gave me the differences but comparing the actual specs with what I had and what I could buy for $270 less, they were the same lens. I am now trying to get this returned. Watch out for these guys. Their number listed on the invoice is 1.877.888.5390 and normal business hours are Mon - Thur 11:00AM to 4:00PM EST. I have talked with them on this number but have to wait until Monday to get the RMA#. Their email address was returned when I sent a link to the Amazon site.

Anonymous said...

Save your money, if it's too good to be true,
that's true...
go to B&H or Adorama, both have been around longer than you have, they are the best !!

Anonymous said...

That 718 phone number is the same one used for thunder cameras.

Anonymous said...

This is a bait and switch scam. Purchased one lens and got another. $1300 loss.