Friday, October 21, 2011

Firstclasscameras.com aka First Class Cameras: SKETCHY!

A new site showing up as a sponsored link on Bing is firstclasscameras.com.  It looks pretty sketchy.  A Nikon D90 for $679?  It's $699.95 on Amazon.

Click on the "verified by Visa" card fraud protection image.  It doesn't take you to Visa's site, it just refreshes back to firstclasscameras.com.

There is no physical address listed on the "contact us" page, and their whois data is private.

They copied a review from B&H:
No reviews on resellerratings yet, but I'd be very careful ordering from these guys.

11 comments:

Anonymous said...

I recently came across this website and was so excited about the price of a camera I have been looking to buy that I didn't even think twice about the legitimacy of the site. I ordered the camera and received a phone call from the company this morning asking for the 3-digit code on the back of my credit card. After I gave them the code, the gentleman informed me that I had purchased the grey market version. Obviously I had not intended to, so I immediately pulled up the website and asked him where this was stated. He ignored my question and told me I could purchase the US version, but the price was the average retail price (which I was not ready to spend yet) and I told him to cancel my order. Asking him again where it was stated on the website that the camera I ordered was gray market, he quickly responded that "it's in the product code, thank you for calling", and hung up on me. So far there have been no charges on my credit card, but after his shady behavior you better believe I'll be watching. Do NOT order from this site!

Anonymous said...

Looked shady to me too, and a search of the phone number came up with a non existent address, or at least google maps and my gps couldn't find it. Address and a 5 star rating from a single customer can be found here: https://www.ekomi-us.com/feedback-firstclasscamerascom.html They are using a Go Daddy proxy address for URL registration, but can't blame them for that. Order page does come up as https. I don't mind grey market as I'm going to convert camera for astrophotography, which will void any warranty anyway, but don't really want to trust giving out credit card info. If Paypal was accepted, with their return of money policy if scammed, I'd take a chance!

Anonymous said...

HI
Just to let you know that I did the same thing ordered canon 7d and speedlite. I recieved an email asking me to call, The caller told me it was grey market and did not come with a battery, I told him no where does it say it is grey market, and in the specs it says has battery. I told him to cancel the order and that I would be informing my bank to watch for any charges concerned with them.
Please steer clear of these people.

Anonymous said...

They claim to be in Miami, I had the exact same experience. Nikon D700 discontinued...sell a DX based camera with new technology to yield FX...a bunch of Miami Jews running a scam.....

Anonymous said...

Thanks guys if only people don't take the effort of passing on you experience we would have fallen for the trap too. The Nikon D7000 which is regularly priced at $1k+ was a steel at $700, that's when I googled reviews about this store. I don't believe it too. So I would advice anyone not to take any chances

Anonymous said...

Look at the prices of accessories. If they can not load you up with extras, they will not sell. They are dishonest.

Anonymous said...

THESE PEOPLE ARE A SCAM! They do it blatantly. When you call as a new customer they have it in stock and ready to ship. After you order you get an email asking to call and then can get your security code on your card. Then they lay on the bullshit about a grey market product you ordered and try to get you to pay hundreds more for the same thing. Finally as a last resort they say it will take 4 weeks to ship. It's all lies and bullshit stay away. I had to put an alert on my credit card.

Anonymous said...

well thanks to all of you and the comments. I am so glad I did NOT order from these folks. It is hard enough to make ends meet in these days, but to get ripped off is even harder.

Anonymous said...

THEY WERE THE MOST HARRASSING PEOPLE I HAVE EVER TALKED TO IN MY LIFE!!! HORRIBLE SO HORRIBLE I CANCELED MY ORDER!!! AND WHEN I TOLD THEM TO CANCEL IT THE MAN SAID I ALREADY CANCELLED IT BEFORE YOU SAID IT!!! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE!!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

Anonymous said...

ordered a camera from this company and go the same e-mail asking us to call and give additioanl information. while i was on hold for 20 minutes, i googled the company and found this blog. I e-mailed them to cancel our order.

Thank you for the feedback.

Anonymous said...

SAME! placed order 2/22 and my account was charged immediately! Got so much fast talking and most of it was BS. Tried to cancel 2/23 but was told it had already shipped, however, when I called back on 2/27 was told they had a bad batch of lenses and would be cancelling my order and crediting my account! I did not see the credit until 3/1, but it had actually been posted on 2/23 the same day I was originally told it had shipped.

I don't deal with liars and they are the worst! I cancelled my card and got a new number as they had both the number and the three digit code on the back. Not taking any chances with these guys. And, oh yeah, you can never get through a call without at least 10 minutes of being on hold to really loud bad music!!!

STAY AWAY!